Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Seattle-Denver Center of Innovation (COIN)

Menu
Menu

Quick Links

Veterans Crisis Line Badge
My healthevet badge
 

COIN Investigators & Staff


Leadership | Administration | Core Investigators | Affiliate Investigators | Research Team | Fellows

Leadership

 

Directors

 

David Au, MD, MS
Title: Director, HSR&D COIN
Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: David.Au@va.gov
Location: Seattle

P. Michael Ho, MD, PhD
Title: Acting Director, HSR&D COIN
Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Michael.Ho@va.gov
Location: Denver

Associate Directors

 

Karen Albright, PhD
Title: Associate Director, HSR&D COIN
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Karen.Albrght2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Steven B. Zeliadt, PhD, MPH
Title: Associate Director, HSR&D COIN
Research Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Steven.Zeliadt@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Fellowship Directors

 

Catherine T. Battaglia, PhD, MSHA, RN
Title: PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Denver
Clinical Teaching Associate Professor, Department of Health Systems, Management & Policy, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Catherine.Battaglia@va.gov
Location: Denver

Sarah B Campbell, PhD
Title: PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle 
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Sarah.Campbell6@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Charles C. Engel, MD, MPH
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Charles.Engel@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Laura C. Feemster, MD, MS
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Associate Professor, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Laura.Feemster@va.gov
Location: Seattle

John C. Fortney, PhD
Title:PhD Fellowship Co-Director, Seattle
Research Career Scientist, Seattle Director, Division of Population Health
Professor, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: John.Fortney@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Christine Jones, MD, MS
Title: MD Fellowship Co-Director, Denver
Associate Professor, Medicine-Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Christine.Jones17@va.gov
Location: Denver

Core Directors

 

Roman A. Ayele, PhD, MPH
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Assistant professor adjunct at Colorado School of Public Health
Contact: Roman.Ayele@va.gov
Location: Denver

Scott Coggeshall, PhD
Title: Director - Seattle, Quantitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Biostatistician
Contact: Scott.Coggeshall@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kismet (Anna) Cordova, MPH
Title: Director - Denver, Quantitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Contact: anna.cordova@va.gov
Location: Denver

Leah M. Haverhals, PhD, MA
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Contact: Leah.Haverhals@va.gov
Location: Denver

Chelsea Leonard, PhD
Title: Co-Director - Denver, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Anthropologist and Qualitative Methodologist
Contact: Chelsea.Leonard@va.gov
Location: Denver

George Sayre, PsyD
Title: Director - Seattle, Qualitative Research Core Seattle/Denver Center of Innovation
Clinical Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: George.Sayre@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Administration

 

Jackie Szarka, MA, PhD
Title: Operations Officer – Seattle HSR&D COIN
Contact: Jackie.Szarka@VA.gov
Location: Seattle

Erica Tartaglione, BS
Title: Seattle COIN Special Initiatives Manager
Seattle HSR&D Fellowship Coordinator
Seattle COIN DEI Co-Chair
VA Puget Sound Project Coordinator Group Co-Manager
Contact: erica.tartaglione@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Erica Valdez
Title: Denver COIN Office Manager
Contact: erica.valdez@va.gov
Location: Denver

Core Investigators

 

David B. Bekelman, MD, PhD
Title: Professor of Medicine and Nursing, University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus
Contact: David.Bekelman@va.gov
Location: Denver

Catherine Butler, MD, MA
Title: Acting Instructor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Catherine.Butler2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Lisa S. Callegari, MD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology, University of Washington
Co-Chairs, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee
Contact: Lisa.Callegari@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Liron Caplan, MD, PhD
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine-Rheumatology, University of Colorado
Contact: Liron.Caplan@va.gov
Location: Denver

Evan Carey, PhD
Title: COIN investigator and lead quantitative efforts for VACE
Contact: Evan.Carey@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jessica A Chen, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Jessica.Chen663@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kristina A Crothers, MD
Title: Professor, Medicine and Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Kristina.Crothers@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Jacob A. Doll, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine, University of Washington
Attending Physician, VA Puget Sound Health Care System
Contact: Jacob.Doll@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Lucas M. Donovan, MD, MS
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Washington
Investigator, VA HSR&D Center of Innovation for Veteran-Centered and Value-Driven Care
Contact: Lucas.Donovan@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Vincent S. Fan, MD, MPHDr
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine - Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
Contact: Vincent.Fan@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Margaret A. Fitzpatrick, MD, MS
Title: Infectious Diseases Physician
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, University of Colorado
Contact: margaret.fitzpatrick@va.gov
Location: Denver

Joseph W. Frank, MD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Medicine-Internal Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Joseph.Frank2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Heather Gilmartin, PhD, NP
Title: Research Nurse Scientist of VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System
Contact: Heather.Gilmartin@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kristen E. Gray, PD, MS, BS
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Kristen.Gray2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Matthew F. Griffith, MD, MPH
Title: Staff Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Physician,
Assistant Director of Medical/Surgical ICU at Rocky Mountain Regional VAMC,
Co-Director of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion for the Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Division
Contact: Matthew.Griffith@va.gov
Location: Denver

Eric J. Hawkins, PhD
Title: Associate Director of the Seattle Center of Excellence in Substance Addiction Treatment and Education (CESATE)
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Eric.Hawkins@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Paul L. Hebert, PhD
Title: VA Health Services Research and Development
Research Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Paul.Hebert2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Christian D. Helfrich, PhD, MPH
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Department of Health Services at the University of Washington School of Public Health
Contact: Christian.Helfrich@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kamal Henderson, MD
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Kamal.Henderson@va.gov
Location: Denver

Paul Hess, MD
Title: Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Paul.Hess@va.gov
Location: Denver

Katherine D. Hoerster, PhD, MPH
Title: Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington
Contact: Katherine.Hoerster@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Jodie G. Katon, PhD, MS
Title: Research Assistant Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Jodie.Katon@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Cari R. Levy, MD, PhD
Title: Investigator, HSR&D COIN
Professor, Medicine-Health Care Policy Research, University of Colorado School of Medicine
Contact: Cari.Levy@va.gov
Location: Denver

Alyson J. Littman, PhD, MPH
Title: Research Professor, Epidemiology, University of Washington
Contact: Alyson.Littman@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Karin M. Nelson, MD, MSHS
Title: Professor of Medicine, Adjunct Professor of Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Karin.Nelson@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Ann M. O’Hare, MD
Title: Professor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Ann.OHare@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Sridharan Raghavan, MD, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor, Clinical Investigator; Division of Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Sridharan.Raghavan@va.gov
Location: Denver

Ashok Reddy, MD, MS, BS
Title: Veterans Health Administration (VHA) Patient-Aligned Care Teams (PACT)
Assistant Professor, General Internal Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Ashok.Reddy@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Amneet Sandhu, MD
Title: Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Amneet.Sandhu2@va.gov
Location: Denver

Laura Scherer, PhD
Title: Assistant Research Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Laura.Scherer@va.gov
Location: Denver

Linnaea Schuttner, MD, MS
Title: Affiliate Investigator Seattle-Denver COIN
Acting Instructor, Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: linnaea.schuttner@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Joseph A Simonetti, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Clinical Investigator, Program for Injury Prevention, Education & Research; Division of Hospital Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Joseph.Simonetti@va.gov
Location: Denver

Emily C. Williams, PhD, MPH
Title: Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Contact: Emily.Williams3@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Edwin S. Wong, PhD, MA
Title: Research Associate Professor, Health Services, University of Washington
Core Investigator, Veterans Administration Puget Sound Health Care System
Contact: Edwin.Wong@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Susan P.Y. Wong, MD, MS
Title: Assistant Professor, Division of Nephrology, University of Washington
Contact: Susan.Wong2@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Affiliate Investigators

 

Lauren A. Beste, MD, MSc, FACP
Title: Associate Professor Medicine, University of Washington
Director, VA National Liver Disease Database
Contact: Lauren.Beste@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Jason A. Dominitz, MD, MHS
Title:Seattle-Denver COIN Affiliate
Executive Director for Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Department of Veterans Affairs
Professor, Division of Gastroenterology, Department of Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: jason.dominitz@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Kelsey Flint, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Kelsey.Flint@va.gov
Location: Denver

George N. Ioannou, MD, MS
Title: Professor, Gastroenterology, University of Washington
Director, VA Puget Sound Health Care System Hepatology
Contact: George.Ioannou@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Comilla Sasson, MD, MHS
Title: Associate Clinical Professor, Emergency Medicine, University of Colorado
Contact: Comilla.Sasson@va.gov
Location: Denver

David Saxon, MD
Title: Assistant Professor, Medicine-Endocrinology/Metabolism/Diabetes, University of Colorado
Contact: David.Saxon@va.gov
Location: Denver

Stephen Waldo, MD
Title: National Director, VA Clinical Assessment, Reporting and Tracking (CART) Program
Associate Professor, Medicine-Cardiology, University of Colorado
Contact: Stephen.Waldo@va.gov
Location: Denver

Research Team Members

 

Brigid Connelly, BA
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Brigid.Connelly@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kelty Fehling, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Kelty.Fehling@va.gov
Location: Denver

Jess Indresano, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: jessica.indresano@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Rachel Johnson, PhD, LCSW
Title: Clinical Core Lead, Denver-Seattle COIN
Assistant Professor, College of Nursing, University of Colorado
Contact: Rachel.Johnson13@va.gov
Location: Denver

Kate Magid, MPH
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: kate.magid@va.gov
Location: Denver

Michaela McCarthy, PhD
Title: Health Services Research & Development
Contact: Michaela.McCarthy@va.gov
Location: Denver

Demetria M. McNeal, PhD, MBA, CPTD
Title: Health Science Specialist, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: demetria.mcneal@cuanschutz.edu
Location: Denver

Adnan Syed, BS
Title: Professional Research Assistant, Seattle-Denver COIN
Contact: Adnan.Syed3@va.gov
Location: Denver

Post-Doctoral Fellows

 

Jake Cotton, MD
Title: MD Research Fellow
Contact: jake.cotton@va.gov
Location: Denver

Marguerite Daus, PhD, RN
Title: COIN Advanced Health Services Research Fellow
Contact: marguerite.daus@va.gov
Location: Denver

Madeline Frost, PhD, MPH
Title: Fellow, Health Services Research and Development
Contact: madeline.frost@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Mattie Pontiff, DPT, PhD
Title: Allied Health Research Fellow
Contact: mattie.pontiff@va.gov
Location: Denver

Mayuree Rao, MD
Title: Fellow, General Internal Medicine, University of Washington
Contact: Mayuree.Rao@va.gov
Location: Seattle

‪David E. Reed, II, PhD
Title: Associate Health Fellow
Contact: David.Reed7@va.gov
Location: Seattle

Jonathan Staloff, MD, MSc
Title: MD Fellow
Contact: Jonathan.Staloff@va.gov
Location: Seattle

The diverse substantive, methodological, and clinical expertise across our investigators and staff is invaluable to VA health care research and delivery.